Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

graphics.js problems

Hello all,
I'm a newbie on Onshape but have 25 years of CAD-use on various systems. I'm trying this out to see what it's like.

I have created a small assembly with one only part and patterned it to 6400 objects in order to see how Onshape works with pattern since that an important task for our business. To me 6400 small since my top assy usually ends up like 100-200k objects.
Apart from consuming 1GB of ram I get graphic errors and problems on the devices I've tested. First my personal laptop with AMD 5450 (I think), then also at work on my Lenovo E32 with QuadroK2000. On my phone with iOS 9 it never gets that far and times out. When I Stop script, the assy loads but with unbearably rugged edges so it is impossible to work with.
Number of faces on the test part is just 6 whereas a proper part would have like 100.
I work with SolidWorks and Solid Edge professionally and to both of them, patterns like these are not a walk in the park for them either, but I don't expect graphic breakdown. Did have a look and recommendations of the graphics and could not find out to have any problems with my card and recommended drivers.

Also the time to timeout is far too short. Haven't figured out yet if that is a setting I can change or not, but I be able to get a coffee without a timeout.  :smile: 

Comments