Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Workflow

russell_tuckerrussell_tucker Member Posts: 2
Hello guys,

I am new to Onshape and solid modeling but I have used Autocad for 2D drafting for many years. When I first started with Onshape, I decided to model a pin that has a knurl on a couple of cylindrical faces, but Onshape has a very hard time loading this knurl on my screen. Support explained to me why it was so taking so long to load, and explained to me that in normal modeling workflow the knurl would normally be called out on the drawing but not actually modeled, to keep file sizes and load times down.

This got me thinking, what else is standard knowledge for a solid modeler that I as a beginner may not know? And as a beginner where can I go online, or what books can I read, that will help me with proper workflow procedures that will let me create nice models without excess commands or operations that aren't needed?

I know a lot comes from experience, but there has to be something out there to get me started in the right direction.

Thanks for the help,
Russell

Comments

• michael3424michael3424 Member Posts: 674 ✭✭✭✭