Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Onshape for Industrial Design?

kinsleymarkkinsleymark Member Posts: 35 ✭✭✭
I appologize in advance for the length of this post! But I believe there is probably a certain audience that is considering using Onshape that would be interested in this.

I’m a professional Furniture Designer / Lighting Designer (trained as an Industrial Designer)
Not only do I create concepts for products (quick model studies, renderings, proof-of-concept geometry, form studies, ergonomic studies, etc), but often times I need to create the final engineered product and CAD models and drawings for fabrication as well.

Previously, I was 100% invested into SolidWorks. It gave me most of the tools I needed to do my concept work as well as the final engineering drawings. It wasn’t the fastest way to create concept models, but being able to tweak and seamlessly turn those concepts into manufacturable components and drawings within one system was worth it. Plus, having a rendering engine built in made it all very efficient. With one assembly model, I could go from concept, to rendering, to engineered parts and drawings all within the same system.

Because of my needs, I’ve been very curious to see how Onshape grows and which direction it heads. I’ve also been watching Fusion360 closely since they have been more aggressively pursuing the Maker / Industrial Design community.