Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Inserting part studios into assemblies?

I am new to Onshape, and I had a question. I inserted a part studio into an assembly, and I fixed all the components so they wouldn't move relative to each other. I then added parts to the part studio, but they weren't added into the assembly. How can I add a part studio to an assembly so that additions to the part studio are reflected in the assembly as well?

Answers

• Options
    philip_thomasphilip_thomas Member, Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 1,381
    Valliappan - hello.
    There is no concept of 'automatically adding parts to an assembly because parts were added to a Part Studio'.
    A part Studio (as you learnt in training) is only for making parts that are geometrically related one to another. Most Part Studios should only contain 1 part. If you have a Part Studio that contains more than one part, you should be asking yourself, 'why?'. The reason is very simply, performance - you only want to rebuild the features that directly affect the part you are editing.
    When you add any part to an assembly (from any Part Studio), you only need to edit the definition of the group mate to add the new part.
    That said, as you move away from multiple parts per Part Studio, you will start using more of the high level mates found within Onshape - this will give you much more control over the assembly.