Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Mate of the kind "touch, don't intersect"?

christoph_schmitzchristoph_schmitz Member Posts: 11 ✭✭
Hi,

I'm pretty new to assemblies. As a first example, I tried to model a situation where a workpiece is clamped between two fixed cylinders using wedges:

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/27cc274378a7403689e51950/w/5ef048db33a54ab49fdb9d16

The idea is that the wedges can slide against each other and the workpiece, until the workpiece is fixed when the outer wedge and the workpiece both touch the cylindrical bench dogs (as they are called in woodworking).

I found it easy enough to add sliding mates between the workpiece and the wedges, and planar mates to keep everything aligned, but is there a way to generally express "these parts should touch, but not intersect"? This would apply to my workpiece touching the bench dog, or to wheels rolling on a surface etc.

I found an elaborate discussion about the concept of mate connectors that seems to suggest that it isn't possible to express this, but I'm not sure I understood that correctly. It seems "tangential mate" would be a way to describe the aforementioned constellation, right?

Thanks and regards,
Christoph

Comments

• brucebartlettbrucebartlett Member, OS Professional, Mentor, User Group Leader Posts: 2,137 PRO