Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Workflow from finished design backwards to manufacturing the parts

nyholkunyholku Member Posts: 58 PRO
I'm not a professional ME so bear with me.

When I design a 'machine' I work from concept to the final functional design. But then I need get the parts made so how am I expected to go about that?

For example I design some part that has all the final dimensions but I want to get it cast so I need to produce the 'as cast' part and drawings.

When I start the 'machine' design I have very little idea how a part will actually me produced and even if I did I would have to / want to design the part 'as machined' and without regards to the cast dimensions etc.

What would be a good workflow?

Comments

• konstantin_shiriazdanovkonstantin_shiriazdanov Member Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2018
    When designing a certain part you should already keep in mind its production tecnology, if you have doubts about certain technology you make several iteration of design corresponding to different production technologies of the parts to take a desigion.