Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

List part numbers in search results

tim_hess427tim_hess427 Member Posts: 648 ✭✭✭✭
I started playing around with part number generation when I decided to see what part numbers had already been assigned somewhere and realized I couldn't figure out which parts already had numbers and which numbers have been used already. 

It would be great if I could:
  1. See a list of part numbers that have been assigned for my company, OR
  2. See part numbers displayed in search results (I think this would work because I think I can make a search just return all parts that I have).
I've tried searching the forum and was not able to find a solution. I did see this related request - maybe one of these solutions would fulfill that request as well:
https://forum.onshape.com/discussion/comment/40035#Comment_40035

Comments

• tim_hess427tim_hess427 Member Posts: 648 ✭✭✭✭
    Another thought to add to this: 

I understand the database structure of Onshape uses specific identifiers behind the scenes to be able to link all of the parts/assemblies/documents together in a smart way. Therefore, the names of parts, part studios, assemblies, and drawings DO NOT have to be unique, and there are few restrictions on naming. This is all fine when working inside of Onshape.