Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Problems with a loft operation

allannkallannk Member Posts: 3
I am quite new to the advanced parts of Onshape 3D features, and I've stumbled upon a problem with the loft tool, that I really cannot figure out how to solve.

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/8792d0330287c7c81988879d/w/94b22a32550a73e027f7edc3/e/21e2e179b79311a536b3fd12

The document probably shows the problem better than I can describe it, but basically I would like the loft to follow a guide on both sides, but I can only make that happen on the bottom part. 
As the document is, the loft cannot be rendered, but it works fine if the bottom guide is deleted. 

Any idea how I can solve this?
Best, Allan

(I hope this kind of questions are allowed here, please move or remove it otherwise (-; )

Best Answer

Answers

• billy2billy2 Member, OS Professional, Mentor, Developers, User Group Leader Posts: 2,014 PRO
    I don't have any general advise for you other than keep trying.

Here's what I found wrong:
    1. your profile in the "Z" was too much. It caused a cusp (self intersection). Added an end transition and cleaned up the loft.

2. don't try and draw the intersection, the system will do a better job. The loft end, I ran it to "front body profile". The intersect, I let onshape figure that out.