Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Onshape or Solidworks

scottyvoidscottyvoid Member Posts: 8
Hi i am currently looking at learning CAD
i have very little experience but would like to invest my time and money into one program
i like the look of Solidworks due to the maturity of the program and see the simulation functions to become useful in the line of work i do. (i design and build temporary structures for events e.g concert roofs, grandstands ect ect)
though when i look at Onshape it seems like it is going to be the future of CAD

before i start learning and spending my time and money on one system i would appreciate some feedback with some users with more experience than me.

Comments

• david_sohlstromdavid_sohlstrom Member, Mentor Posts: 159 ✭✭✭
    If you have the time to see Onshape develop into a full grown CAD program. You will be able to do most of what SW does at far less cost. Just the annual maintenance on SW will cost you more than a Pro subscription of Onshape. Plus 1 seat of SW is several $k .

If you need to work with others on your structures than it will be far easier with Onshape.

Dave

David Sohlstrom

Ariel, WA
  • traveler_hauptmantraveler_hauptman Member, OS Professional, Mentor, Developers Posts: 419 PRO