Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Change html on browser to modify toolbar

Alkis_KaraolisAlkis_Karaolis Member Posts: 10 PRO
Hi Onshape. I am new to the software and prefer all the commands to be visible in the toolbar, as opposed to some having a drop down list. I have a 4k screen so length of the bar is not an issue.

Since the toolbar is actually html, i made a chrome extension to change it (the html code) on the browser before rendering. To begin with, i tried to swap the word "Sketch" in the toolbar with the word "Drawing". 

The extension worked with every website other than Onshape. So every website that has the word Sketch renders into Drawing. If i manually edit the rendered html i can manipulate the toolbar and even assign icons on custom features.

My example script is bellow

var elements = document.getElementsByTagName('*');

for (var i = 0; i < elements.length; i++) {
var element = elements[i];

for (var j = 0; j < element.childNodes.length; j++) {
    var node = element.childNodes[j];

if (node.nodeType === 3) {
        var text = node.nodeValue;
        var replacedText = text.replace(/[word or phrase to replace here]/gi, '[new word or phrase]');

if (replacedText !== text) {
            element.replaceChild(document.createTextNode(replacedText), node);
        }
    }
}
<span>}</span>