Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

How to import .x_t assembly, and modify a part

Mark_SandersMark_Sanders Member Posts: 17 ✭✭
I'm new to this party :smile: and it's really cool.
Whilst starting modelling from scratch seems really straightforward, I'm struggling with importing stuff done in other cad (eg solidworks) .... I can get it into on space but that's about it.

Can someone give me the best work flow to
1. Import an assembly - .x_t, ideally or solidworks ...( I assume Both these are dumb solids, no feature trees )
2. Then isolate one part to modify.
3. Modify that part ... Stretch, resize / move holes & features.
4. Save back into assembly as an improved product.

Seeing the rest of the interface this is probably really obvious, but my prior 'conditioning' on other systems is making me blind to the obvious ;-)

Mark

Comments

• Research_01Research_01 OS Professional, Mentor, Developers Posts: 301 PRO
    edited October 2014
    1. Import the native solidworks assembly or the x_t or step or....
    2. right click the tab of the import file, choose 'translate' and choose onshape
    3. go to the onshape translation tabs (named the same as the imported tab)
    4. modify away...
    5. right click the tab at the bottom of the part studio or assy you modified and choose 'translate' again and then choose the export format you want.
    6. bobs your uncle...