Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

How can I create an angle cut out of a cylinder? (sort of like a needle)

zach_morriszach_morris Member Posts: 10
I’m brand new to Onshape. I’ve used 2D animation apps before, and have gone through a few tutorials to make pretty basic shapes. 

I’m curious how I would make the device below. It’s a hallowed out cylinder that needs an angled slice (sort of like a needle), and has an arm protruding out of it at an angle.

I started by my making a 2d version of the “Top View” and bottom view and extruded it out, but I couldn’t figure out how to modify that in any way to resemble the shape of the side view. I included a snapshot of my failed attempt below.

thanks! 

Best Answer

Answers

• KrzKrz Member, Developers Posts: 68 ✭✭✭
    - extrude the biggest profile up to Plane 1 (instead of Distance) and select New instead of Add in the Extrude panel
    - make new Plane with Offset 10 from Plane 1
    - split that new part with Plane 2
    - remove bottom element after split (you have 2 elements now: 1 between planes and one under plane 2)
    - make new Extrude of biggest circle up to Plane 2 (use Add and select Part 1 as context)
    - join Part1 and Part2
  • zach_morriszach_morris Member Posts: 10