Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Derived Component Feature / Body As A Work Surface?

john_hammons643john_hammons643 Member Posts: 17 EDU
Hello! I'm new to Onshape and was wondering if Onshape has the feature that allows deriving a "body as a work surface" from a derived component similar to how Autodesk Inventor does it? Any tutorial or link that offers instruction on how to use this feature (if it exists) would be helpful!

Thank you! 

Comments

• NeilCookeNeilCooke Moderator, Onshape Employees Posts: 5,310
    edited July 2020
    Senior Director, Technical Services, EMEAI
  • john_hammons643john_hammons643 Member Posts: 17 EDU
    I'm trying to prepare for a high school boat design competition and we have used Autodesk Inventor in the past. However, that will not work this year because we are beginning the school year 100% virtual and my students have Chromebooks which will not support Inventor. I am hoping the Onshape platform will be able to do what we need. As I work through some of the process, I would like to post my problems in this thread hoping someone can lend a hand.