Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Crankshaft Mating

tom_gullantom_gullan Member Posts: 14
Hello,

I'm really new to Onshape and CAD. I have a problem and wonder if anyone can help.

I've designed an engine casing, crankshaft and conrod.

I have secured the crankshaft to the casing using the Revolute Mate and I am able to animate it using the mating menu.

I then connected the conrod to the crankshaft journal, again using the Revolute. However, when I now animate the crankshaft, the conrod rotates as part of the crankshaft, passing through the walls of the casing. The conrod does not rotate round the crankshaft journal and I am unable to get the conrod to slide parallel with the centre of the cylinder lining.

I have watched numerous Online tutorials but have not been able to find any information on this problem. Please, can anyone point me?

Kind Regards
Tom 

Comments

• matthew_stacymatthew_stacy Member Posts: 475 PRO
    @tom_gullan , it sounds like the trick is to figure out how to mate the small end of the connecting rod to keep it on the center-line of the cylinder.

One thought is to add a piston pin that is mated revolute to the connecting rod and planar with a mate connector on the cylinder.  I'd be happy to give it a whirl if you're willing to share a link to your document.

Cheers,

-Matt
  • tom_gullantom_gullan Member Posts: 14
    Good afternoon Matt,