Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

A proven process and resources to prototype using as many purchaseable components as possible

edward_omagbemiedward_omagbemi Member Posts: 9
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Onshape and I'm probably my worst enemy in getting to work with it.
I studied mechanical engineering and learned "sort-of" how to design. "Sort-of" because I went into fluid and aerodynamics and spent more time on wind tunnels and programming than designing. Now I have enough knowledge to be ambitious but no experience in actually prototyping. A bad combination.

Fast forward 30 years and I'd like to build stuff using components I can buy and using Onshape or Shapr3D to design and build brackets, fixtures,... to make it all work.

So the "designing" a shaft from the ground-up approach of the beginner tutorials are not really what I'm looking for. That's basic stuff that is kind of self-explanatory. I'll go through them in order to learn Onshapes features and how to use them but this is not what I'm struggling with.

I'm struggling more with