Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Lines not 100% enclosing an area and still a revolve or extrusion is possible????

edward_omagbemiedward_omagbemi Member Posts: 9
This is a really weird question:

So I'm new with Onshape and I watch videos and start sketching on an Ipad.

Everything is fine. I create a simple shape to revolve into a cone.
I create another shape to remove a rectangular section from the cone. Easy. Awesome.

I then see on closer inspection on desktop that the rendering of the rectangular section is not 100%

I zoom in as much as I can and discover that the endpoints of the lines that form the shape do not 100% touch each other.
I rectify the situation by defining constraints for every single line endpoint that reflect design intent.

Now I'm scratching my head and asking myself how on earth a shape can be defined if the enclosing lines do not 100% enclose.

Is there a "Closeness" error - factor implemented in Onshape that I need to know about?
Is it maybe just a mobile bug and I'm better off working on Desktop and using Mobile only for viewing,...

What is the best method to check coincidence while designing? I have not come across any audit tool that checks for possible issues.

Comments

• NeilCookeNeilCooke Moderator, Onshape Employees Posts: 5,307