Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

DXF Export Issues

jason_traudjason_traud Member Posts: 15
I'm trying to get a DXF file exported from a part and then import it into Carbide Create in order to cut it on a CNC. My issue is that the software I'm importing it into seems to be interpretting the MM units in OnShape as inches. I can manually scale it down however, the final scaling appears slightly off. 

I'm new to the DXF format, but could there be a line in that specifies units that's not being generated properly or is omitted? I'm working with the face of part 19 in the project below
https://cad.onshape.com/documents/33b9bc333fda92b9d1e79d9c/w/e88e5eb22a9dc4d818e7335d/e/9feb284ab86b9ecd4fb5cef1 

Comments

• tim_hess427tim_hess427 Member Posts: 648 ✭✭✭✭
    This thread has some discussion on the topic. If I remember correctly, DXF files are supposed to be unitless, but different softwares try to guess the units and often guess differently from other software. If you open the DXF in a text editor, you may be able to find something to tweak. 

https://forum.onshape.com/discussion/comment/72481#Comment_72481
  • jason_traudjason_traud Member Posts: 15