Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

The ability to use other existing sketch dimensions in another dimension within the sketch.

richard_earlrichard_earl Member Posts: 1
I am not a professional CAD designer, I use CAD software for hobby purposes, I have until recently been using Inventor under an academic licence, as my situation has changed I can no longer use Inventor, and I cannot justify the expense for hobby purposes. Hence I have moved to Onshape as it looks to be the best alternative for me, however the inability to use existing sketch dimensions within another sketch dimension is almost a deal breaker.

I would like to see the ability to use an existing dimension within a sketch (d1) within another dimension (d2), either as a simple reuse of that dimension (d1) value, or more usually as part of a formula for determining the value of the dimension (d2).