Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Spinner geometry

youjin_kim779youjin_kim779 Member Posts: 8 EDU
Hello there,
I need to draw Onshape design for calculating the rotational efficiency of this spinner (please see the pictures for top and side view). The rotational situation can be seen in the video link. I tried loft, sweep etc to draw this, however, I am new to onshape and awkward in drawing this kind of complex figure. Let me know how I can learn my self. It would be very helpful if you share me some important tools or documents for this geometry. Thank you in advance!
https://youtu.be/oRqKGTWRmsU

Best regards,
Kim

Comments

• shawn_crockershawn_crocker Member, OS Professional Posts: 798 PRO
    I think the main issue with this is that the edge of each fin is not actually fully visible at any perspective so working off photos is really not going to be as good as just guessing the shape while holding the object in your hand.  I would probably find a way to hold the object in a very stable way allowing it to still be rotated.  Then I would find a way to accurately measure points along the edge of one fin measuring the angle of rotation, the vertical axis and an axis perpendicular to the center of rotation.  Then I would map those points into onshape, create some type a curve to reference through the points.  After that the rest of the shape can be represented by sketches on planes.