Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

How do I insert a Part Studio from history

msandeep
msandeep Member Posts: 16 ✭

So I deleted a part studio by mistake. Went on to make other changes. Now I want to add back the deleted part studio from history (but don't want to throw away recent changes to document overall). Is there a way to do that?

Tagged:

Best Answer

  • Matt_Shields
    Matt_Shields Member, Onshape Employees Posts: 986 PRO
    Answer ✓

    Use Versions and history. Go back to the point where you had the part studio. Right-click "create version here." Then create a branch. Then go back to Main. Then merge branch into main. Make sure you use "Replace with B1" as the tab merge strategy for the deleted tab.

Answers

  • Matt_Shields
    Matt_Shields Member, Onshape Employees Posts: 986 PRO
    Answer ✓

    Use Versions and history. Go back to the point where you had the part studio. Right-click "create version here." Then create a branch. Then go back to Main. Then merge branch into main. Make sure you use "Replace with B1" as the tab merge strategy for the deleted tab.

  • eric_pesty
    eric_pesty Member, pcbaevp Posts: 2,894 PRO

    @Matt_Shields ,

    Didn't you guys add "selective restore" just to make this simpler?

    Just go to the version in the version and history and then select "restore to main" and pick "keep main" for the "overall restore strategy" and set the one tab you want to restore in the "tab restore strategy".

  • Matt_Shields
    Matt_Shields Member, Onshape Employees Posts: 986 PRO

    @eric_pesty is right. Just clicking "restore to main" will accomplish what I was describing. It will open the same merge/restore strategy dialog.