Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

How would i find out what the properties of a face are?

dave_cowdendave_cowden Member, Developers Posts: 470 ✭✭✭
Hi, everyone!

I'm very new to FS, I apologize in advice is this question is dumb.

I have had no problem creating a basic feature, and I've learned the basics of parameters.  

Suppose I have a feature in which the user selects a Face,  like this:

annotation { "Name" : "Target Face", "Filter" : EntityType.FACE, "MaxNumberOfPicks" : 1 }
        definition.targetFace is Query;

Now, I'd like to compute a point at represents the geometric center of the face.  So i started with this code:

for ( var theFace in evaluateQuery(context, definition.targetFace ){
            theFace.<what>   
        }

But now I'm stuck on several levels:

(1) i have no idea what properties or methods are available on this object.. No intellisense help in the IDE.

(2) i cannot seem to find any reference documentation to tell me

(3) I cannot find any functions for center computations.

(4) i found the debug libraries, but according to the documentation here ( https://cad.onshape.com/FsDoc/library.html#module-debug.fs), it doesn't appear that throwing a face reference in there would work.

In short, i feel like i must be missing some set of documentation other than FsDoc that describes the 'core' api. Where might I find that? 

Regards, and thanks!

Dave

Best Answer

Answers