Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Drawing Lines on a Sphere / Loft / Rotation....

andy_mankoandy_manko Member Posts: 9
I am brand new to Onshape, learning how to use this tool to 3d print for my hobby of making model airplanes.   My current project requires several 1/2 spheres with lines on them (these would be glass in real life for a tail gunner...)

I can get the shape no problem done as a loft, or rotation but I am having trouble figuring out how to add the lines on the shape.  

Any thoughts on how I can do this?

Thanks!
Tagged:

Answers

• john_mcclaryjohn_mcclary Member, Developers Posts: 3,890 PRO
    Draw half of the dome. Then revolve around the vertical line.
    If you want it hollow, then offset the arc to be the thickness of the glass. Or use shell after you revolve.

• andy_mankoandy_manko Member Posts: 9
    Thanks for the comment, what I am trying to do is get lines on the surface of the sphere, both horizontal and vertical.  

Getting the hollow sphere is step one, how do I add detail to the surface of it.  

Appreciate your help!
    Depends on what you want in the end. There are a handful of methods. Do you want to make metal bands (you mentioned a gunner seat on a plane. I'm imagining WWII bombers)
    That is exactly what I am going for, WWII bomber ball gunner and canopy.  

I would like to get the detail look of metal strips.