Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

DELETE ALL CONFIGURATION CONTROLS

shawn_crockershawn_crocker Member, OS Professional Posts: 798 PRO
edited February 2021 in Product Feedback
It would be nice if there was a way to delete all configuration controls in one swift moment.  The workflow I use is this.  I have a master assembly of a particular type of product.  This assembly contains other sub assemblies.  This master assembly is extremely configured.  There is often around 30 different configuration controls.  What I do when a new product needs to be derived from this master assembly is I set the controls to there desired settings.  I then release the assembly which also releases the sub's and parts.  I then copy the workspace and replace the sub assemblies with the newly released versions.  I am now left with many configuration controls that are inactive.  Leaving them there creates a problem when making drawings and accidentally selecting different configurations.  Selecting different configurations does not change the model but can cause the final release of the newly created product to release multiple part numbers for the same thing.  If there was just a button that could be clicked to just wipe away the controls it would be so great.  To take this further, sometimes there are sketches and mates that are using configuration variables to solve.  If the deleted configuration controls button also caused the i