Deleting Branch Workspaces
jmccormick
Member Posts: 40 ✭
When I am done with a design branch, have saved a version of the branch, and restored the winning branch to the main workspace - Would it be a best practice to delete the branch workspace so it cannot be further propagated? I understand that a new branch can be started from the saved version if needed.
It seems like a loose end to me to leave all of those obsolete ideas (my current small project has 10 branches so far) with an active workspace.
This might be a dumb question but now I have asked it...
It seems like a loose end to me to leave all of those obsolete ideas (my current small project has 10 branches so far) with an active workspace.
This might be a dumb question but now I have asked it...
0
Best Answer
-
it is good practice to 'trim the head' of the branch by deleting the white dot.
it will delete all history of the branch up to the last version. So if you want to keep that history, create a version first then trim the head.
when there is a white dot on the top that means you can edit.
When it is solid it is read only
here is what it will look like once you delete B1
0
Answers
-
it is good practice to 'trim the head' of the branch by deleting the white dot.
it will delete all history of the branch up to the last version. So if you want to keep that history, create a version first then trim the head.
when there is a white dot on the top that means you can edit.
When it is solid it is read only
here is what it will look like once you delete B1
0 -
I do this too pretty much for the sole reason that the branches all jump to the top after an update. If they didn't I would feel less compelled. Note, if you don't have "delete" permissions you won't see the option, which is important to keep in mind if sharing with a team.0
-
Oops, I don't know what I did wrong - or if the software has changed - but, this action deletes the entire branch. Yes, I hit "Delete" on a few of them and the entire branch went away - not just the workspace.


0 -
@jmccormick - it deletes to the branch down to the last version that was created on that branch. So, if you want to delete the workspace but not loose anything, just create a new version on that branch, then delete the branch.0
-
0


