Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Multipart Part Studio

anthony_2anthony_2 Member Posts: 1
edited July 2015 in Community Support
I'm pretty new to using Onshape, so pardon me if this is pretty well traversed ground. I'm trying to model the mount for a cylindrical object that consists of two saddles and a mounting plate. The intent I'm trying to capture is for the saddle spacing to depend on the cylindrical object, and the hole spacing in the mount plate depends on the saddle locations. So if I change the the cylinder the saddles will move and the mounting plate will grow or shrink and the hole pattern will move accordingly.Is there a good way to do this in a multibody Part Studio? I see that I could create a copy of the saddle and then translate the copy, but I don't see how this would work if I wanted to connect the saddle locations to features on the cylinder. Am I missing something in how the workflow in Onshape is supposed to work?
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    andrew_troupandrew_troup Member, Mentor Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It is preferable, in principle and if it represents reality, to use "mirror" rather than translate the saddle. As a rule, symmetry should be captured as deign intent, typically by the use of centreplanes or symmetry planes as  the basis for mirroring.