Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

"Flip Part on Plane" Custom FeatureScript

Trevor_JonesTrevor_Jones Member Posts: 4
Hi, all. I want to create a featurescript that flips a part on the plane of a sketch, but I don't know the best method. It seems like a fairly simple thing to do, I'm just new to coding and featurescripts.

To explain further, I'm trying to nest many different parts with pockets and holes onto 4x8' bounding box for CNC cutting with VisualCAMc (which does not have nesting capabilities). However, the "Auto Layout" featurescript I am using does not take pockets into consideration when nesting components, so some of the pockets face down, instead of upwards for milling. Another option would be to code this parameter into the existing "Auto Layout" featurescript, but unfortunately, I'm unfamiliar with coding and am limited in this regard.

Below is a screenshot of my parts, from the bottom. Any advice that could lead me in the right direction would be appreciated!

Answers

• Options
    My first thought is to make a rule that creates a mirrored part (the mirror plane being the sketch plane) It then deletes the original part. Then it will move the mirrored part upwards, the value of which is driven by the thickness of the material, or the distance between the top and bottom faces of the part.

If I could automate this process, perhaps I could include the code into the original.