Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Using Tangent Arc

wolfganghwolfgangh Member Posts: 5
Hi,
I'm kind of new to Onshape, and I don't use CAD for business reasons, which means I'm not an expert at all :)
However, I'm struggling with the tangent arc command, which is not behaving the way I've seen it in other CAD programs.
This is what I want to archive: connect a tangent arc (to a line or another arc, doesn't matter), but be able to chose the direction of the arc.
e.g. drawing a vertical line, adding a tangent arc to the endpoint, but not the way Onshape suggest to do, instead the opposite way (concave if that makes sense).
Is there an easy way to do that?
Many thanks, Wolfgang

Best Answers

Answers

• Options
    peter_hallpeter_hall Member Posts: 196 ✭✭✭
    @wolfgangh
    Hi just keep finger on the mouse don't let go as this will finish command. Move mouse to left or right and the arc should invert to other direction. Then when happy don't forget to check menu and leave the tangent arc line!
  • Options
    Hi Peter,
    thanks for the quick answer. Unfortunately, this is not exactly what I'm looking for. I do know how to use tangent arc in general, but what do I have to do to get the bowing in the opposite direction (sorry, I'm not a native speaker, it may not translate very well)?