Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Constraints - Sketching

sean_richards499sean_richards499 Member Posts: 15
edited October 2020 in Community Support
Greetings,
I am very new to CAD sketching.  I'm trying to create a model I will be using to as a template.  I'm trying to create a button and I can't seem to get it properly constraint.  I was wondering if you take a look and give me some suggestions.  To create the button I created to rectangles 2mm x 9mm and two 2mm circles.  I trimmed the inner circle out.  I created the line in the middle because the mid point kept floating all over the place.

Answers

• Options
    matthew_stacymatthew_stacy Member Posts: 476 PRO
    @sean_richards499, share the document.  I'd be happy to look at it for you.
  • Options
    bruce_williamsbruce_williams Member, Developers Posts: 842 PRO
    edited October 2020
    @sean_richards499

Welcome to Onshape & the Forum!  You have begun a great adventure and there are many on the formu who will help along the way.  :)

You have a few basics to master with sketching.  Please see the Learning Center - https://learn.onshape.com/catalog?query=sketches

A few tips for now -
    1) use construction lines for your reference geometry. Then your areas will work out better for features.
    2) you can make centerlines that are vertical from midpoints to help center things
    3) use the slot tool instead of rectangles and circles