Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Help me hollow (or shell) a model please!

bitingmidgebitingmidge Member Posts: 13
Hi, I am very new to Onshape (or any form of CAD for that matter) and have spent the day completely lost I'm afraid!

I am trying to draw a small dust collection fitting, and have what I think is a solid model, although it may well be a series of hollow surfaces at this point.

After much trial and error I was able to make a similar part (version 1) yesterday.  The biggest difference between the two is that the cylindrical portion yesterday was an extrude, and today it is a sweep. I have the feeling that the answer is very close but my brain is a bit computer fried!

So basically I have a loft and a sweep that don't want to play.  I did get them to work in a fashion by removing surfaces and then thickening, but there were too many bugs to persevere.  I have tried to shell to sweep a cylindrical object and pretty much every combination I could think of.  There are plenty of errors showing, but I have not been able to find anything to explain what they might be.

If someone could point me in the right direction I'd greatly appreciate it.

The drawing in question is HERE

The drawing that worked for me is HERE

Best Answers

• sebastian_glanznersebastian_glanzner Member, Developers Posts: 398 PRO
    edited January 2021 Answer ✓