Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Working with a .obj imported mesh -please help

max_thelionmax_thelion Member Posts: 8
Hi, I'm new to Onshape and am still finding my way. I'm trying to design a tray for a mandibular splint in order to be able to add air vents to it to aid nighttime breathing.
Here is the link: https://cad.onshape.com/documents/4b57568fa0fb47a3526b38d0/w/bfb76977732198a88ff275bd/e/afe9340632cd73801882a4d9
I want to be able to extrude/remove to trim some clutter off the model and then I want to offset it outward to give it thickness. The problem is I can't get the extrude/remove to work and I'd be very grateful if someone can help me get this feature to work.
Many thanks,
Max.

Answers

• Options
    MichaelPascoeMichaelPascoe Member Posts: 1,717 PRO
    Onshape is made to work with solids (step, sldprt, & parasolid) and has little mesh support. However, in order to work with meshes in Onshape you will need the custom feature Boolean Plus by @MBartlett21.

Boolean Plus: 
    https://cad.onshape.com/documents/84d939daceef6a928b8abcba/w/9e0dafb21fbe2ec8b983bbdc/e/eebc2fcbf29fac07f8f92ed1

Learn more about the Gospel of Christ  ( Here )

CADSharp  -  We make custom features and integrated Onshape apps!   cadsharp.com/featurescripts 💎
  • Options
    max_thelionmax_thelion Member Posts: 8