Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Impossible in OnShape but possible in Autodesk IPT: Boolean operation failed to return a valid part

trevor_curtistrevor_curtis Member Posts: 5 EDU
I am a high school engineering teacher. I started out in Autodesk Inventor. In that program, files are separated as parts and assemblies, etc. In Onshape, it seems that you could build assemblies inside part studios. There is a project we do where students create puzzle pieces that form to make a larger cube. Some of the parts that my students come up with are impossible to create in OnShape as one merged solid part. It always happens when two corners or edges come together with empty space on one or both sides. I get an error stating that boolean operation failed to return a valid part. I can create these same models in Inventor as one singular part, no problem. I don't understand why OnShape cannot create these models as one solid part when they are all connected through a joining body. Is there any solution for this? I have included images of two examples as well as a link to the file being used. I have tried multiple ways to create them as well as patterning. I have tried with and without "merge with all". Here is a link to the file: https://cad.onshape.com/documents/b2ea531c88ae07fcf1e23cdd/w/168c0f64537a353b0932764d/e/878a6945c242ed3dc8eb70ca
Here are some images:

Comments

• Options