Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Loft between two rectangles with horizontal and vertical guides

Hello,
I'm pretty new to 3D modelling and after some months with freecad switched to onshape to design a Ender3 Fanduct (3D printing).
Currenlty I'm stuck while creating the Duct for the parts cooling fan.

I need to create a cutout to let the air flow to the "target".

I named the top cutout where the fan blowes the air in and the outlet where it should blow out onto the printed part
now i need a smooth transition in the vertical axis and an offset in the horizontal axis so that the air will travel out straight of the fan duct.

If I select my two surfaces and click loft than add guides and continuity and select the guides I created I always get the message: "Could not generate valid guides from selection" and others.
Can please someone help me out or explain to me why its not working. The document is here: https://cad.onshape.com/documents/6953f1a750ac373194a40d06/w/10d744094054381e9400bcbf/e/59fb429edb4006e1f129d481
The Sketches I want to loft are:
DuctTopCut
DuctBotOutlet
The guides are:
DuctVerticalGuide
DuctSidewaysGuideL
DuctSidewaysGuideR

I Spent hours searching for a solution which I still cant find. Thats so frustrating :neutral:

Hope someone can help me. Thanks in advance.

Best Answers

Answers

• Options
    MichaelPascoeMichaelPascoe Member Posts: 1,735 PRO