Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Trying to get SVG of a sketch

I'm a novice user of OnShape.

I created this model in OnShape to illustrate and share an idea that I have for making rigid but temporary wooden joints

From the "side view" sketch of that model I exported a DXF file with the intent of generating an SVG file for some web documentation.  DXF doesn't seem to me to be the most appropriate format for a planar drawing, but choices are limited.

For my documentation I'd like SVG.

I fed the exported DXF file to varioous web based conversion utilities.

https://convertio.co/dxf-svg/ produced an SVG file with only three lines (each a path element with one M and one L step) in it.

https://cloudconvert.com/dxf-to-svg produced an SVG file containing a single polyline element with only two points.

I write my own utility, all--be-it incomplete, for parsing DXF files and it only finds three lines in the ENTITIES section of the DXF file.

I believe the sketch itself has eight line segments and three more guide lines.  Where are the rest of them?

Thanks.

Best Answer

• Options
    tim_hess427tim_hess427 Member Posts: 648 ✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓