Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Drawing of part not on a standard plane

0xB767B0xB767B Member Posts: 4
Hey folks

I am new to onshape and to CAD and I like it very much :smile: 

Now I have run into a problem with my first design:

I want to create drawings of my parts that are not on a standard plane (XY, YZ, XZ) to be relative to a standard plane. Searching the forum, I have found some hints (some somewhat old and maybe not "state of the art" anymore). I also found https://forum.onshape.com/discussion/6867/view-part-to-normal-to-a-face-in-drawings and https://www.onshape.com/en/resource-center/tech-tips/tech-tip-using-named-views hinting to use named views.

Is this the way to go? Do I really have to create a named view for every part (three named views per part if I want all three views)? This seems to be a bit cumbersome to me... But to my excuse, I am a complete CAD newbie :blush:

Many thanks in advance for your support!

Comments

• Options
    wayne_sauderwayne_sauder Member, csevp Posts: 482 PRO
    @0xB767B