Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Question about Units, and more...

sebastian_glanznersebastian_glanzner Member, Developers Posts: 401 PRO
edited July 2022 in Simulation
Hello everyone, 

I'm a mechanical engineer from Germany and I use N, mm, kg as units in my simulations.
I just started using the Simulation EVP and I have a few questions.

I created a simple part and fixed the left face and applied a downward force of 10000N on the right face:

When I type in the 10000N it automatically converts it to lbf. To see the original value, I have to select it again.
-

• Can I prevent the conversion or is this normal because my document units are set to "mm"?

When I run the simulation I get some stress two red lines in the radius with the highest stress:

So my first guess is that the elements are not small enough to calculate the area with the highest stress.

• Is there a way to see the mesh or the element size?
  • The units in the legend are missing. I guess it is (psi), correct?

In the next step I split the surface in Onshape to force the simulation to use smaller elements:

Now the stress distribution looks very good to me!

I also compared the result with SimSolid with the highest settings (which took much longer to run than Onshape):

• Is there a way to change the element size or influence the mesh convergence in Onshape? 

I know that these are a lot of questions at once  :)