Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

How to use Part Studio / Assembly

Hello,

I'm new to Onshape and CAD in general.  They switched from paper/pencil to computer-based the semester after I took it!

I have an existing design made up of 5 different pieces that get glued together that I created in TinkerCAD, and I want to recreate it in Onshape in order to have more options in my design.  I started out creating the sketches and extrusions for 3 of the parts all in the same Part Studio, which (I think) turned out to be a bad idea.  Two of them are located right around the origin, and they overlap in some areas.  I had the first hidden when starting the second, so didn't really think about it at the time.  When I made the first part visible again, one portion of the overlapped piece is a hold which ended up removing material from the first.

I know I can fix my problem by deleting the work that I did on the second part and recreating it, but before I do that, I wanted to check to see if there is a way to "move" the features (sketches, extrusions, filets, etc.) from one part studio to another.  Is that how I should have done it in the first place?  Should I have created each part in its own Part Studio?  How do I reference features of one part in another part to assist in the design of the subsequent parts?