Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Make a copy

Hi all, newbie here so many questions to come.
I am working through the lessons and have just started the machine vice, when I click on open public document I get the notification that the document is view only but I do not get the option to make a copy, as shown in the instructions. What am I doing wrong this time, please?
Thanks in advance.

Answers

• Options
    Rhett_RobinsonRhett_Robinson Member Posts: 95 PRO
    If you have an enterprise account, you will need to switch to your personal account to get access to the copy function.
  • Options
    Martin_ChapmanMartin_Chapman Member Posts: 5
    Okay, will that not mean that my progress will not be visible to anyone else from the company? 
  • Options
    S1monS1mon Member Posts: 2,368 PRO
    Make sure you are looking at a workspace (e.g. "Main") and not a version. You can't copy a version.

If you are on an Enterprise account, your admin can control whether you can make copies of public documents at all. If you are on enterprise, and copying is allowed, the copy will show up in cad.onshape.com, not companyname.onshape.com. You can then transfer the document into the enterprise, where others could see it.

See the "Transferring Privately Owned Documents" in this Enterprise help page.
  • Options
    Martin_ChapmanMartin_Chapman Member Posts: 5