Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Intro to Cad

Hi everyone, I'm a tech teacher and I just started learning 3D design in May of 2022. I'm very new but learning fast.

I just started to teach my 8th graders the Intro to CAD class this afternoon. I really like the curriculum because it's very informative and detailed. The animations are great! However, it can be challenging to navigate the first time. There may be some other teachers noticed this as well so I took a bit of time over the holidays to figure out how it works. I think and came up with a roadmap to getting the first lesson started with students. This takes students from their log in to the lesson. These instructions are specifically for Intro to CAD but should work for most lessons.
  1. Login to Onshape.
  2. Go to your Training Dashboard by clicking on the Learning Center button in the top right corner of the screen that opens after login. On the page that opens, click on My Dashboard.
  3. Under Browse (left side of the page), select Educator Resources. In the menu that drops down, select Curriculum. This will open up a few Learning Paths. Select  Intro to CAD (or whatever you are working on.)
  4. Under the title of the page, below "Lesson Planning", click on "Course Scope and Sequence". A Google Doc will open. This is the entire course for this quarter. Explain units 1-5 to students.