Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Variable improvements

jules_smithjules_smith Member Posts: 24 EDU
edited January 2023 in Product Feedback
I have been using Onshape for two years now. I originally used fusion 360, and I believe onshape to be a better platform due to configurations, feature scripts, the part studio system, etc, however, fusion 360 has an absolutely incredible variable (or "parameter" as they call it) system that I think could be integrated into Onshape if a software developer got bored enough. In case anyone reading this is unfamiliar the fusion 360 variable system works as follows.

- There are two subsections for parameters

- Parameters that are automatically added to the table from features
Every single length or angle value that you enter in CAD ends up in the variable folder making for an incredibly powerful post-processing system that can be achieved in Onshape, but it takes a ridiculous amount of time.

- Parameters that you add in yourself (like onshape).

- Parameters are organized based on the parameter type, and/or the feature that they are a part of in folders that are generated automatically.

- Variables do not appear in the browser.