Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

PRINCIPIA - INTEGRATED MULTIBODY DYNAMICS SIMULATION

StadlesStadles Member Posts: 6

Hello Onshape Community!
My name is Daniel, I am a numerical dynamics engineer from Austria and my first post in this awesome knowledge data base is to introduce you to our novel app PRINCIPIA.

PRINCIPIA is THE cloud native Multibody Dynamics Simulation App to Onshape!

It perfectly fits into the proven Onshape workflow and, as an initial step, closes the gap between Onshape Assembly and Onshape Simulation.

Imagine you want to run a structural analysis simulation on a certain part of yours. As with any FEM simulation, you need to provide Onshape Simulation with forces/moments acting on your part.
While this can be a simple task in terms of a single part mechanism, deriving actual loadcases within a multi-part mechanism can be very tricky.

This is exactly where PRINCIPIA comes into play.

We want you to do this within the native Onshape UI&UX, therefore you keep modelling through Mate Connectors, as if you extend your kinematic model. And just like that, you compute the dynamical response.

We take your kinematic model, as defined within the Onshape Assembly, ask you to add a minimum of inputs (e.g., the distance a lever travels / the torque your RC motor produces) and compute loads, moments, contact forces etc. for any part of your mechanism.