Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Can't scale a part on the Z axis

peta_labpeta_lab Member Posts: 7
edited March 2023 in Community Support
Hello, I'm pretty new to OnShape as a whole, but I've spent some months trying to get the basics down to a point where I feel I'm somewhat confident with the program. That being said, I just found a very weird constraint that doesn't allow me to continue with a project I'm currently working on. The issue went as follows:

1. I downloaded several STL files and imported them as parts in separate Part Studios, but all gathered in the same project, as each STL needed to be "cleaned up" and then saved as a composite part (by "cleaning up" I mean taking a full body model of a character and turning it into a bust using several methods).
  2. I saved each character model as different composite parts and then gathered them all in a new Part Studio to figure out some proportions I needed for additional parts.
  3. I tried to resize all composite parts to 2.75 times their original size, but it wouldn't let me.
  4. I tried going through each composite part individually and discovered that the only one that wouldn't be resized was one in particular.
  5. I went back to that composite part's studio and tried to scale it up from there, to no avail.