Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

is it possible to import / modify .obj files, or other purely 3D-model formats that are't CAD? =8^O)

ann_monnann_monn Member Posts: 11
i am a CAD noob.  

i sculpted by hand (rasps, dust, garage, tendonitis) and derived a digital model of the sculpt via photogrammetry.  the model is all cleaned up and in .obj format.  i need to cut an array of holes in its surface so it becomes a coarse mesh; i need to 3D print the result, so the mesh has to be 45º so its printable.  my first real day using Onshape and i actually figured it out, i got everything working on a test-object.  I'm stoked, full of coffee, ready to forge ahead working on the .obj file now, and i am just totally encased in horror because .obj file will not show up on import

it appears to upload, it takes up dataspace, but theres nothing there when the upload is complete.  no indication of 3space, just blank white oblivion.  

Answers

• Options
    andrew_troupandrew_troup Member, Mentor Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Onshape can act as a container for files relating to a project, which is why you were able to import the file.