Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Onshape organizing concepts

Dear Onshape experts
I am new to Onshape, I am struggling to understand such notions as document, folder, sketch, assembly... I have watched several tutorials, and still do not understand how to go about things.
My project is not about designing a 3D object. I want to design several plates of different shapes for various uses inside my home (basically covers for wooden pieces of furniture). These 2D shapes are independent  from each other. I would like to create folders Room1, Room2, ... and inside each folder have the shapes of the plates which will go into that room. How do I do that ?
After watching the tutorials, I thought I would create a document for the whole set of plates, then inside it create my Room folders, then inside each folder create a sketch for each plate belonging to that room... but I do not manage to have this work.
If someone can help me out I will be very grateful
Jean-Marie

Best Answers

• Options
    robert_scott_jr_robert_scott_jr_ Member Posts: 319 ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Hello Jean Marie. The folders can be created at any time. The work is done in a part studio or assembly not in a folder. When part studios, assemblies, drawings, etc. are created the tabs of those document elements can be 'grabbed' with the left mouse button and slid over into the folders. - Scotty
  • Options