Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

How to select a variable when adding a dimension while sketching on ios

JeHJeH Member Posts: 9
Hi, i’m a hobbyist 3D designer, mainly for 3D printing. I‘m new to onshape because I like the idea of being able to continue work on PC I started on iPad and vice versa. I‘m used to do parametric design because after printing a first draft, I usually realise I need to change stuff that does not fit as expected. 

Now I wondering there doesn‘t seem to be an easy way to select one of my previously created variables, when assigning dimensions while sketching. I can however tab on the keyboard symbol and manually write # and the name of a variable. 
But in a bigger design, with precise dimension variable names like Sled_Battery_PCB_Distance, remembering all the names and taking the time to write them over and over again, not even thinking about formulae referencing multiple variables to define a dimension, seems like a lot of overhead. 

Isn’t there a way to select available variables from a list when defining a dimension?

Best Answer

• Options
    ian_alexander202ian_alexander202 Member Posts: 3
    Answer ✓