Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

How to use imported STLs?

h_e_witsenburgh_e_witsenburg Member Posts: 4
Hi,

I am completely new to Onshape and learning fast from watching YouTube tutorials. But one thing I just cannot get done. I've created a new project and imported 3 STL files. A 2020 extrusion profile, a MGN12 rail and a MGN12H cart. Now how do I get all parts in one view, so I can move them around, align them and draw the elements between / on them I want to draw? I've searched for a relevant tutorial but not found one, if you know one please link it.

Cheers,

Hugo

Best Answer

Answers

• Options
    andrew_slovakandrew_slovak Member Posts: 11
    I'm also fairly new, but I've kind of given up trying to work with imported STLs. Since they're meshes, OnShape views them much differently than actual solid parts. I was able to find a tutorial a while back that used FreeCAD to import the STL, work some magic on it and convert the STL to a solid, export it from FreeCAD and then import that into OnShape, since afaik OnShape doesn't currently support turning STLs into solid parts.
  • Options
    edward_petrilloedward_petrillo Member Posts: 79 EDU