Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

user-specific feature parameters?

mark_schroeder475mark_schroeder475 Member Posts: 5
I'm very new to FS. I've searched for an answer to this, though I may not know exactly where to look. Apologies if it's naive.

I have a feature developed for a small, informal group that generates g-code for some basic machining operations. (It's important for it to be straightforward and a generic CAM app is beyond the scope.) I would like some settings for the feature to be adjustable but only by specific people: tool numbers, feeds and speeds, offsets, that sort of thing. I'm imagining a conditional group that is read-only or invisible to other users. Or there could be other options. But they all depend on one thing: identifying the user. Is there a way in FS to determine the userId, or some other identifier? Does anyone have a suggestion for a good way to do this?

Comments

• EvanReeseEvanReese Member, Mentor Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭✭✭
    All I can think of is making 2 features. 1 with what everyone should do, and 1 that's only shared with the right people.
    Evan Reese
    I guess another hack could be to make a string field that takes a password of some kind, which will make an editable field show up. It's a bit of a roundabout thing to set up, but possible.
    Evan Reese
    Couldn't get this one out of my head so I mocked it up and it works!