Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Shelling and tips

sam_sailorsam_sailor Member Posts: 2
Hi!
I'm quite new to onshape, and I'm working on an RC sailboat model that you can find here (Everything is in french, sorry...).
I have this shape for a keel balast that I need do hollow, with a 0.4mm wall thickness.  Sadly, I get this error: "Cannot shell parts with selections".

According to this thread, I should cut the model to try and find what part causes this. I thought that the pointy end would be the problem, but surprisingly, when I separate the model in half, I can hollow both parts! I'm a bit confused...
So sure, I could hollow the two parts and then join them back, but I still would like to know if someone has another idea.

To see what I tried, you can just unsuppress this:

Comments

• Options
    S1monS1mon Member Posts: 2,388 PRO
    It does seem to be the pointy end of the ballast which is causing the issue. Somehow when you split the part, it's doing some internal workarounds differently than it does when the part is whole, but here's another fix which doesn't require splitting it into two parts and booleaning them back together:

I cut off the very tip, shelled it, and then delete face (with heal) to get back the point on the outside.
  • Options
    glen_dewsburyglen_dewsbury Member Posts: 595 ✭✭✭