Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Absolute beginner understanding of FeatureScript.

M_ArcM_Arc Member Posts: 6

Hi everyone,

I'm a user of Onshape and I'm interested in learning FeatureScript. I've gone through most of the courses available, but I'm still struggling to understand the nuts and bolts of the language.

The courses I've taken generally assume that the learner has some prior knowledge of coding, but I don't have any. I'm looking for a course that will explain every comma, space, and function in FeatureScript in a way that I can understand.

I'm willing to put in the time and effort to learn, but I need a course that will give me a solid foundation in the language. Does anyone have any recommendations?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Comments

• Matt_ShieldsMatt_Shields Member Posts: 385 EDU
    Definitely make sure you've done this one.  It's great:
    https://learn.onshape.com/courses/featurescript-fundamentals

This is also kind of fun:
    https://learn.onshape.com/learn/article/teach-programming-with-onshape

If you don't have any prior knowledge of coding, before you dive into FeatureScript, it might be smart to start with a basic JavaScript course like this one:
    https://www.codecademy.com/learn/introduction-to-javascript

• EvanReeseEvanReese Member, Mentor Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭✭✭