Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Diameter dimension on iPad app

I’m new to OnShape and work on iPad and Mac, and making my way through the tutorials.
I’ve reached “03. FEATURE CREATION” in “Introduction to Part Design” where I’m supposed to define a sketch to be used for the revolver tool. 
The issue I’m having is how do I make the dimension that define the diameter that the revolver tool use on the iPad app?

When I select the lines in the sketch the dimension just become the distance between them, and I can’t figure out how make it a diameter.

Best Answer

• Options
    steve_shubinsteve_shubin Member Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭✭
    edited September 2023 Answer ✓

REGARDING THE POST DIRECTLY ABOVE

There’s a horizontal construction line (dashed line) going through the origin. I used this to mirror around

So the FIRST THING YOU DO IS select that construction line going through the origin

THEN you select the mirror tool

IMPORTANT — be aware that you have to select the line that you want to mirror around BEFORE you select the mirror tool

Then you click on the lines that you want to mirror.

Now as far as the angled lines that were at 3°, what I did was I drew a construction line from point to point and then mirrored that.

So once you have all of these mirrored lines down below, you could dimension off of them