Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Sketch Dimensions -- Units and labels

Hi,

I'm a mechanical design engineer and have some feedback on sketch dimensions. In general, these need a lot more options for customization to be up to industry standard (e.g., solidworks or NX). 
A few examples I've noticed so far:
I should be able to add labels (or other notation) within a sketch dimension for better communication between team members looking at the sketch.
I couldn't find an option to display dimensions in other units. If a component interface is in a different unit, I should be able to display it as such in the sketch instead of a random decimal.
I should be able to change diameter to radius and vice versa.

While these aren't necessary for design, these kinds of things are important for communication and design documentation. If someone needs to revise parts years down the road, it's helpful to convey design intent. Anyway, I hope this is helpful.

Comments

• stuart_robinsonstuart_robinson Member Posts: 37 ✭✭
    +1 for labels in sketches. i know you can add comments but it would be a huge benefit to look at a sketch and see all the labels at once vs having to keep clicking back and forth
  • martin_kopplowmartin_kopplow Member Posts: 460 PRO